Focaccia Bread

Ever since I started cooking, I have always wanted to bake. But I was and still really am scared of handling yeast and flour together. Finally, I decided I had to make an attempt at baking bread in order to conquer my fear. There were so many recipes that I came across for my first ever baking effort and I just did not know which one I should follow. I read quite a lot on what should the first time bakers do. One of the things I read was the discussion on use of dry yeast versus fresh yeast. Of course fresh yeast is much better to use because of the fluffiness it gives to the bread. But for the first time I did not dare to try fresh yeast..and to say the truth I don’t even know what it looks like.

Photobucket

After a lot of browsing around for recipes and what bread to bake, I decided on Focaccia Bread especially after seeing the focaccia bread recipes at Vegan YumYum and Delicious Days. Both looked delicious, but I chose the Delicious Days recipe as it was quicker and involved less steps. :-)

This being my first baking experience I did not want to wander even a step away from the recipe. However, instead of adding olives I just added dried rosemary leaves. Baking was quite an experience..I think I enjoyed playing with dough more than anything. It was relaxing as well. I just kept digging my fingers in the sticky dough..probably a bit too much than I should have. But hey I was having fun..isn’t that important ;-)

Photobucket

The only problem I had with the dough was that I couldn’t stretch it much. I was scared that if I stretched the dough too much in the pan it would tear. I don’t know if this is normal? Or am I just supposed to stretch the dough even though it seems that it would tear? Also, I don’t think I used the right pan for the bread. I used a smaller pan than what it should have been. That might have been also the reason why the bread was like a loaf instead of flat focaccia bread. All said and done, the bread was wonderful. The saltiness of the crust and the soft insides was a great combination. As the bread was baking, the rosemary aroma filled the kitchen and both J and I couldn’t keep our hands off the bread :-D Thanks Nicky!!

As the ingredients for the bread were: Flour + Yeast + Olive Oil + Water + Rosemary ..just 5 ingredients, I thought this would be a perfect entry for Nupur’s MBP: Less is More (originally initiated by Coffee)

Photobucket

Ta

2 Responses to Focaccia Bread

  1. Nupur says:

    Your first bread looks very impressive! Thanks for a delicious entry.

  2. Meera says:

    Thanks Nupur. Seeing your post on the onion bread, gave me the idea to bake :-D

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

