Soft Orange Scented Brioches

IMG_0198

Of late I think I have caught the baking bug. I never thought baking would be fun and oh my gosh, I totally love it! I first started by baking the Focaccia Bread, which turned out pretty good than what I had imagine it would be. I had some blackberries and raspberries left over from the Baked French Toast I had made for Sia’s WBB-Breakfast Blog Event. So I tried to bake some raspberry and blackberry muffins. The recipe called for 2 tsp of baking soda. Now to confess to everyone, I did not know what the difference between baking powder and baking soda was. I know that is terrible, but I had never baked before. All I had at home was baking soda and thought about substituting baking soda for powder. I researched online about the difference between the two and realized that I could not substitute baking soda for baking powder. But I had already mixed the dough and the other ingredients and didn’t feel like going to the store to buy baking powder. So I used 1 tsp of baking soda instead and boy o boy, was that a big mistake! The muffins just didn’t taste right..there seemed to be something missing in the muffins. And I learned from my mistake to never take baking lightly and NEVER substitute baking soda with baking powder or vice verse.

After the muffin disaster, I couldn’t keep my mind off baking and decided to make Nicky of Delicious Days’ Orange Scented Brioches. I had vowed to myself not to screw this one up. So the night before we were supposed to leave for our family vacation to Arkansas, I got my bowls, ingredients and my Kitchenaid mixer ready and set out baking. In the beginning, Nicky’s recipe calls for adding flour, milk, sugar and yeast and to stir it once or twice and let it sit for 15 mins. And for me to not make a mistake was not at all possible. For some reason I thought the recipe called out for 1/3 cup of milk and while I was mixing I thought something was wrong because the dough seemed dry. So I check the recipe again and find out that I had messed up my metric to US (cup) conversion. It was supposed to be 1 cup of milk. I added the remaining amount of milk and mixed it again. By then I had mixed the flour far more times than the recipe called for. And after 15 mins of letting the covered dough rise, I did not see any bubbles on the surface as the recipe says it should. That scared me and I was not sure how the brioches would taste. But you have got to trust Nicky’s recipes..they are AWESOME! My screw up did not make that big of a difference in taste (at least that’s what I like to think ;)) When I took the brioches out of the oven, the kitchen was filled with orange scent and though it was 10 pm I could not resist having one with some strawberry preserves.

The only thing I can say about them is that you have to try some in order to explain the rich, sweet texture of the brioche. We took the brioches to Arkansas the next day and the whole family had them for breakfast. They all loved them. My nieces thought I had added some orange juice to them, LOL!

Ta

IMG_0193

Orange Scented Brioches (Adapted from: Delicious Days)

Ingredients:

1 cup warm milk
1 packet of dry yeast
2-1/2 cups All purpose flour (I had to add more flour than the original recipe calls for)
1 tsp of sugar for initial dough
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 tsp salt
1 egg
1/3 cup melted butter + extra to brush the brioches once done
zest of one orange


Method

Mix flour, 1 tsp sugar, milk and yeast in a bowl and stir a couple of times. Cover the bowl and let it sit a warm spot for 15 mins. Add remaining sugar, egg, orange zest, salt, melted butter to the bowl and knead the dough. I used mixer to knead the dough but you can knead it with your hands as well. If the dough seems sticky (dough should be able to come off of the sides of the bowl easily), add more flour. Cover the bowl again and let it sit for 45 mins in a warm place (I placed it in the turned off oven). Place the dough on a floured board and knead one more time. Preheat the oven at 390 F. Divide the dough into 12 equal dough balls. Prepare the muffin tray by placing paper muffin cups in the tray (or you can butter the tray). Place the dough balls in each muffin holder on the tray. Place the muffin tray in the oven and bake the brioches for 17 mins. Remove the brioches from the oven and brush them with the remaining melted butter. After the last step, DO NOT just pop one in your mouth, though the taste will be fantastic, I do not guarantee that your mouth will not be burnt. ;)

This bread would be perfect for Bread Baking Day #12 blog event hosted by Aparna of My Diverse Kitchen. Hope you all enjoy it! :-)

breadbakingday12

7 Responses to Soft Orange Scented Brioches

  1. Aparna says:

    The butter and the egg in brioche dough add richness and makes it very soft and flaky. These look really good. The addition of orange zest is new to me.
    No one would know that you had mistakes. We all do these things from time to time, alot of us don’t blog about it, that’s all.:D
    Thanks for participating.

  2. Meera says:

    Thanks Aparna. The orange zest gives it a summery, fruity taste. Do give it a try sometime :).
    Thanks for hosting the event.

  3. Rashmi says:

    wow meera..you have been coming up with one delicious post after another..am adding you to my blogroll to keep tabs on you!

  4. Meera says:

    Thanks Rashmi :-)
    Reading about your lime chana, I really missed India. I need to make some soon.

  5. […] Walnut Bread Yet another effort at baking bread. Barely a week had gone by since I last baked brioches and I was itching to bake some more. This is what baking addiction is like I guess But this time I […]

  6. Jude says:

    Good choice. I bet the orange flavor works great to cut into the richness of the brioche.

  7. Meera says:

    Thanks Jude! Initially I was skeptical about how orange and brioche would go together. But I am so glad I tried it! :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

