Sizzling Fajita Whole Wheat Pita

The wheat flour I bought to bake whole wheat focaccia earlier was still lying around on my kitchen counter. Wanting to use it again, I started looking for recipes and I ended up here. I’ve been a silent reader on Jugalbandits’ blog for over a year. Theirs in one of the blogs I visit everyday. Their writing is witty, funny, sarcastic (I love it!), lively and really inspiring. Their enthusiasm for living a healthy life is remarkable. I don’t know if I can find any more adjectives for them..am kinda running out. :-) However, Bee and Jai, I do want to say thank you for your blog and I really do appreciate it!

Whole wheat pita

Now I made the pitas, but did not know what to eat them with. Don’t get me wrong, they were really tasty, however I wanted it to be complete healthy meal. When I opened the refrigerator to see what all I had, I had nothing substantial. J and I are going out of town for the long weekend and I have been avoiding going to the grocery store till after the trip. All I found were frozen Morningstar products, marinated onions that I keep on hand for sandwiches, etc., and cheese. J and I whipped this dish out and it was quite tasty for not using any fresh vegetables. It may seem like a lot of work, but trust me, it just took us 40 mins to prepare the meal..including 30 mins. of marinating time. However, there was a lot of cleaning after the everything was done, but J took care of it :-D

Ta

PS: I marinate one onion at a time and it stays good for at least 10 days in the refrigerator.

fajita pita

Recipe: Sizzling Fajita Whole Wheat Pita
(Serves 3, Makes 8 pitas)

Ingredients

For Whole Wheat Pita

2 cups Whole wheat flour
2 tsp dry yeast
3/4 tsp salt
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 cup warm water

For Vegan Steak Fajita

1 packet Morningstar Steak strips
1/8 cup balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp Worcestershire Sauce
1/2 tsp dried garlic (you can use fresh..I was just lazy to use the fresh one)
1/2 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp red pepper flakes
1 tsp brown sugar
salt
pepper

For marinated onions (Can be made few days ahead)

1 red onion
1 Tbsp olive oil
3 Tbsp balsamic vinegar
salt
pepper

For Yogurt-Feta Sauce

2/3 cups yogurt
1/3 cup feta cheese (I used mediterranean herb feta cheese)
1/2 tsp dried garlic
salt
pepper

Method

For pita bread

Knead all the ingredients together into a soft dough. The dough should be smooth and it may be slightly sticky. Add olive oil, just enough to coat the dough and let it sit covered in a warm place for 1.5 hrs. Deflate the dough and knead for one min. Divide the dough into eight equal parts and roll them into balls. Place the balls in a baking sheet and cover them with a towel to prevent them from drying. Place a baking stone (if you are using a baking sheet, place it inside the oven when you are ready to bake pitas) and preheat the oven to 500 degree F. Take one ball and roll it out so that it is 3/16 of an inch thick, sprinkle semolina/cornmeal if using baking sheet, and place it in the oven. Bake it for 4 mins. approx. If it starts browning, take itout immediately even if not puffed up. Once done (does not smell yeasty), take it out of the oven and let it cool on wire rack. Repeat till all dough is used up. Once cooled, wrap the pitas in aluminum foil.

whole wheat pita

For marinated onions

Preheat the oven to 350 degree F. Slice the onion into thin rings. One trick I have learned for slicing/chopping onions is that put the onion in the freezer for 15 mins. Take it out and then chop/slcie to avoid “crying” over the onions. When kept in the freezer, the gas that gets released while chopping an onion also freezes. So no more crying! Line a baking sheet with foil and lay the onion slices on the sheet. Bake the onions for 30 mins. While the onions are getting baked, in a bowl mix balsamic vinegar, oil, brown sugar, herbs and salt and pepper. Once onions are baked, cool them and add them to the balsamic mix. Store them in an air tight container for a later use.

For fajitas, mix all the ingredients other than the morningstar vegan steak in a bowl. Add herbs or anything else you might want to add per your taste. Pour the marinade in a ziploc bag. Add frozen vegan steak to the ziplock bag and shake it to coat all the pieces. Let them sit for at least 30 mins. Heat a skillet on medium heat and cook the steak pieces for about 5 mins.

For yogurt-feta sauce, mix all the ingredients in a bowl and stir well. Refrigerator it, until you are ready for assembling the pitas.

For assembly, spread about 1.5 Tbsp of the yogurt-feta sauce on the pita. Add pew pieces of vegan steak and onions. Fold it and tada..its ready to serve. You can also do the same in a pita pocket.

This goes to Zlamushka’s Spicy Kitchen for the Tried & Tasted event featuring Jugalbandhi for the month of August and to Sia of Monsoon Spice hosting the JFI – Soya blog event.

8 Responses to Sizzling Fajita Whole Wheat Pita

  1. Usha says:

    Loved it…looks perfect.I have never tried baking pita’s myself but your pics and description is mighty tempting….

    Thank you Usha. Baking pitas was not as difficult as it seems. Do give it a try :-)

  2. Jojo says:

    Wow! I never considered making my own pita before, but you make it look super easy! Might be just the project I’m looking for this Labor Day weekend. :D

    Thank you Jojo..do let me know how it turned out for you.

  3. bee says:

    vegan steak fajitas are an awesome idea. thanks for the kind words.

    Thank you Bee :-)

  4. Rashmi says:

    vegan steak fajita with pita & marinated onions made from scratch!
    how cool is that

    It really was fun baking pitas and the whole meal tasted delicious. Thanks Rashmi.

  5. rachel says:

    Fajitas…vegan steak ones…great…

    ur pitas have fluffed so well….


    Thanks Rachel..though not all pitas fluffed up!

  6. Poonam says:

    Your pitas have fluffed up so neatly!

    Thanks Poonam. The fluffed up rate was about 60%.

  7. Jude says:

    Mmm steak and fresh pita bread. My neighbors are going to love me for that :)

    Thanks Jude :-)

  8. Zlamushka says:

    WOwo, love the pita and the filling. It just looks and smiles at me. YUM! Have to try the whole combo. Thanks for participating.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

