Sev ni Biranj (Sweet Vermicelli/Sevai)

Sev biranj is a dessert that was made often at our home back in India. Biranj being one of my favorite desserts, everytime I visited India, the relatives would invite me for lunch/dinner and the dessert would be biranj. I am not trying to be rude, but none of those would taste near as delicious as the way mom made it. I guess that is how everyone feels about the dishes cooked by moms.

Photobucket

Anyway, I was craving it last week after thinking about it for weeks. One call to mom on skype and I had the recipe. It is so simple and yet beyond delicious. You can either make it with milk or water. Also any dry fruits would work in this dish. especially toasted almonds. I hope y’all enjoy it as much as I do :-)

Photobucket

Recipe: Sev Biranj (Sweet Vermicelli/Sevai)
(Serves 2)

Ingredients

1 cup Sev (I used wheat vermicelli)
3/4 cup boiling milk/water (+/-)
1/4 cup sugar (or per your taste)
3 cardamom pods (seeds crushed)
1 Tbsp ghee (clarified butter)

Method

Heat ghee in a pan and once hot add vermicelli to it. Roast the vermicelli till it becomes brownish. You’ll know when its roasted from the aroma. While it is roasting, boil milk (or water) in a saucepan. Once the vermicelli is roasted add the boiled milk (or water) to it. Be careful, there will be some splatters. Reduce the heat to low-medium and let vermicelli cook. When the milk (or water) is completely evaporated, add sugar to it while continuously mixing it. Once sugar melts, add crushed cardamom or any other dry fruits you would prefer. Serve it immediately.

5 Responses to Sev ni Biranj (Sweet Vermicelli/Sevai)

  1. Usha says:

    I have tasted vermicelli payasam which has the same ingredients but this one is very different as it seems drier,looks delicious,will try this sometime…oh and I agree I think the same way about my mom’s cooking too….nothing compares :)

    Usha, biranj is very similar to payasam. It goes very well with roti and subji.

  2. rachel says:

    You are so right about mom’s cooking being the best…Biranj is new to me.

    Biranj is so easy to make and it tasted delicious. It is similar to sevai with milk..this is just a drier version.

  3. notyet100 says:

    NEW NAME,.LOOKS DELICIOUS,..ND U R RIGHT BOUT MON COOKIN,..:-),.HPPY GANESHA CHATURTHI…

  4. Jayashree says:

    This sounds so good. I’ve never tasted it before.

    Thanks Jayashree :-)

  5. Bharti says:

    Hey..this sounds good. I usually make this with water, never tried it with milk. We eat this stuff with potatoes.

    Hello Bharti…I make it with water too sometimes. The milk just gives it extra creaminess.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

