Tomato Soup with Gujju Twist

Last weekend, J and I went to visit our family. It was a fun time, especially seeing our nieces. But one of the dinner table discussion was VP candidate Sarah Palin for Republican party. Of course such a discussion in our family is an intense one because of the differing opinions. And it seems impossible for us to respect each other’s opinions…it has to be my way or highway! Don’t get me wrong..I love each and everyone of them, but they sure know how to test my love! ;-)

But I digress. I did want to talk about Ms. Palin. Has GOP lost its mind? Do they really believe that Hillary Clinton followers will vote for McCain just because of Palin’s gender? None of Hillary’s beliefs will matter just as long as you put a skirt clad figure in front of the public? Especially a female who does not know what a VP does everyday! Huh! that is very interesting. Don’t you think? If you get a chance do see this video from the late night shows. They are hilarious. I am sure you have to take everything with a grain of salt, but this is one huge rock, that you just cannot ignore!

Photobucket

Anyways, I digress again. After all the eating out and heavy foods, we were just craving something light and hot and fresh. We made the tomato soup that both of us love. As far as tomato soups go, I rarely like the creamier/thicker version. I assume that’s because the soup mom made and the one I have been having for the past 15 years has been of thinner consistency and I could (I think I can but have never tried it!) have bowls and bowls of it. The soup for sure does have a gujju twist to it but I love it and I made J (staunch vegetable hater, especially tomatoes) fall in love with it too. A grilled cheese sandwich and a bowl of hot tomato soup = bliss!:-D

Ta

Photobucket

Recipe: Tomato Soup
(Serves 4)

Ingredients

4 tomatoes
1 cup water
1 green chilli (chopped)
1 small ginger (chopped)
1 tsp jaggery
1/4 tsp red chilli powder
1/4 tsp turmeric
salt per taste
cilantro for garnish

For tempering
1/2 tsp ghee
1/2 tsp oil
2 cloves
1 small stick of cinnamon
1/8 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp cumin
3 curry leaves

Method

Score the base of the tomatoes and boil them for approx. 20 mins. or for as long as they are cooked and the skin peel off. Let the tomatoes cool and then puree them using a blender or mixer. Sieve the tomato puree to remove any uncooked parts or skin. Add water to the sieved mix and cook it on medium heat. Add all the ingredients of the soup to it. For tempering, in a small pan, heat ghee and oil together. Once hot, add cloves and cinnamon. Then add the mustard seeds. Once they start crackling, add asafoetida, and other ingredients for tempering. Add the tempering mix to the soup. Be careful as the it will spatter all over. Let the soup cook for another 5-7 mins. Serve it hot with grilled cheese sandwich.

7 Responses to Tomato Soup with Gujju Twist

  1. Usha says:

    Loved it…loved your tomato soup..so different from the usual heavy creamy ones..will definitely try this soon..thanks for sharing :)

  2. Aparna says:

    I’m not a “soup” person, but this sounds nice. A tempered soup, Indian style.

  3. Bhawana says:

    wow this is looking literally delicius and mouth watering. Great will try this

  4. Anjali J. says:

    this is something new to me.. lovely soup recipe.. i have bookmarked it so that i can try it later..

  5. This looks tasty. I prefer the thinner tomato soups too.

  6. Laavanya says:

    This is my kind of Tomato Soup too.. hot, spicy, and not creamy & thick. Yum.

  7. Dave Jones says:

    I have never tried this.. i will bookmark to try.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

