Kadhi (Spicy Yogurt Soup)

Last week for me has been hectic at work preparing for an upcoming conference, and working on a few other projects. Though I love my work and enjoy most days, there are times when it gets frustrating, and tiring. When you just long a vacation. I am sure everyone has those days once in a while. At the end of those days, all I want to do is curl up on my couch and read a book. And believe me, I did just that on Friday night. Ahh..and that is what I needed.

Kadhi

Next week promises to be even more busy with me spending pretty much most of my time at the conference. So this weekend, all I wanted to do was relax, read book, watch some TV and enjoy some light but delicious meals. What better than khichdi and kadhi for a light meal on Saturday night. It had been a while since I had khichdi and spicy yet soothing kadhi. I say soothing, because something about kadhi comforts me..makes me feel relaxed. We thoroughly enjoyed our meal and continued with our reading session.

I hope you all had a great weekend and continue to have a wonderful week. I’ll see you all in a few days :-)

Ta

Kadhi

Recipe: Kadhi
(Serves 2)

Ingredients

1 cup yogurt
3/4 cup water
3 green chillies (chopped)
small piece of ginger (finely chopped)
1 tsp gram flour (besan)
1-1/2 tsp jaggery
salt per taste

For tempering

1 tsp ghee
1 tsp oil
3 cloves
small piece of cinnamon
1/4 tsp mustard seeds
1/4 tsp cumin
pinch of asafoetida
3 curry leaves

Method

In a bowl, whisk together yogurt, water, and besan in a smooth mix. Add chopped green chilli and ginger, salt and jaggery. Pour the yogurt mixture in a pan and cook for 5 mins on a low-medium heat. Be careful not to cook on high heat as the yogurt may curdle. In a tempering pan, heat the ghee and oil. Once hot, add cloves and cinnamon stick. Add the mustard seeds. After the mustard seeds crackle, add cumin, asafoetida and curry leaves. Add the tempering mixture to the yogurt mix and cook it for another 10 mins. Serve it hot with khichadi or roti!

8 Responses to Kadhi (Spicy Yogurt Soup)

  1. Usha says:

    This is one of my favorite comfort foods too..coincidentally I made khichdi last week and posted that….:)

  2. rachel says:

    Nothing like a light meal as this!!

  3. Anjali J. says:

    loved the recipe.. i too make this with butttermilk

  4. Bhawana says:

    great look. I like kadhi very much. thinking from a long time to make this.. good one.

  5. sagari says:

    kadhi looks light and delecioussssss

  6. Jude says:

    That ghee is sure to be so fragrant. I’m going to try it on dals.

  7. Vij says:

    kadhi looks yummy!! lovely pics…
    I am pretty new to this blogphere..jus popped in to say a hi!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

