Vagharela Bhaat

Yippe! My first post in the blogging world. I have been a silent visitor on a number of food blogs; Nupur’s One Hot Stove, Meeta’s What’s For Lunch Honey, Meera’s  Enjoy Indian Food, Coffee’s Spice Cafe, Sia’s Monsoon Spice..to just name a few. I would make my daily visit on these sites eagerly waiting to see the latest update/post. I have cooked quite a few recipes from these blogs and let me tell you they were incredible. Somedays I would drool just reading the recipes on these sites and continue dreaming about them till I cooked them.

Some of the recipes would remind me of old days back home when my mom prepared these tasty dishes and how hard she worked to prepare those for us. Not that she thought that was hard work. She prepared every dish with such love and passion that anything she cooked tasted divine. She is such an ardent cook that I sometimes feel guilty of not cooking as much. Hence this blog. After reading all the blogs and talking to my mom everyday on the phone on how to prepare this or that, I finally realized I like cooking (as long as J cleans up the mess I make!). Actually, more than cooking I do like to hear compliments on my cooking ;-) (is that bad?) It gives me this amazing feeling of accomplishing something. I hope to update this blog often with my encounters in the kitchen.

Tonight after work, J and I were just tossing some ideas on what to eat for dinner. He wasn’t in the mood of anything elaborate or spicy as he had an upset stomach. But he was really craving “Spicy Rice” or “Vagharela Bhaat” in gujju. I tried to teach him how to say Vagharela Bhaat probably a hundred times to no avail. Anyhoo, so spicy rice it was..easy, tasty, and satisfying.

Ta


Vagharela Bhaat

Recipe:

(Serves 3)

Ingredients:

3 tbsp of oil

1-1/2 cups of cooked rice

1 finely chopped onion

2 chopped green chilies (increase or decrease depending on level of spiciness desired)

pinch of asafoetida

1 tbsp of mustard seeds

1 tsp of cumin

red chili powder (per taste)

turmeric (per taste)

salt (per taste)


Method

Add salt, red chili powder and turmeric to the cooked rice and mix it. Be gentle so as not to break the rice grains and avoid mushy’ing the rice. Heat the oil in a pan. When hot, add asafoetida and mustard seeds. Once the mustard seeds crackle, add cumin. Now add the chopped onions and fry them till they are cooked (turns translucent). Add green chilis and the spiced rice. Stir the rice, again make sure to not break the rice grains. Let it cook for 5 mins and viola “spicy rice” is ready! I let it cook for 10 mins to crisp the bottom layer of rice. Thats how J and I like it. Enjoy with yogurt and pickle!

Vagharela Bhaat

2 Responses to Vagharela Bhaat

  1. sia says:

    hello Meera,
    i came to ur blog through my technorati link and quite pleased to know u did try few recipes from my blog enjoyed. glad u r inspired to cook and share all the delicious recipes with us through ur blog.
    so let me welcome u warmly to this wonderful world of food blogging. i hope u do stay for long and share recipes and stories with us.
    PS: so what’s for dindin tonight? 🙂

  2. dindintonight says:

    Hello Sia..Thank you so much for this warm welcome! I do plan to stay for a while even if that means boring the food blogging world 😉 You are an amazing cook and the few recipes I have tried from your blog were sooo good.

    dindin tonight might be chili 😀 ..See you around! ta..

Leave a Reply

