Toasted Potato Sandwich

In Rajot, “Balaji Sandwiches” are famous for their spicy, buttery sandwiches. It is a “hole in a wall” kinda place, but you should see the amount of people lined up to eat these delish sandwiches. I remember the times when  we would go shopping to the bazaar  with my dad, he would take us to “Balaji Sandwiches” and we would eagerly wait in the queue for our turn and god was it hard to do! With all those aromas floating around you, my mouth would water and I would be scared of drooling all over myself in public.  They were so yummy! I have never been able to imitate Balaji sandwiches, but the ones mom taught me to make came pretty darn close. Thanks Mom! ~muah~

In the gradschool, my roommates and I would be so tired at the end of the day after classes and work on campus that these sandwiches would be just the thing we needed. Easy to make, tasty and cheap!After getting married, I made them a couple of times and my SIL E loved them. Whenever she came home from school, I would try to make these for her. She is home right now for summer but is soon heading back for summer school. So we decided to make these for lunch. I served them with some green chutney and ketchup.



Toasted Potato Sandwich

(Makes 5 sandwiches)

Ingredients

3 large potatoes (finely diced)

1 onion (finely diced)

1/2 cup of peas (I use frozen)

3 small green chilies

1 tsp mustard seeds

1 tsp cumin

1 tbsp garam masala ( I use Everest brand)

1 tsp pav-bhaji masala (I use Everest Brand)

1 tsp Red chili powder

1/2 tsp turmeric

1/2 tsp of asafoetida

2 tbsp oil

Salt per taste


Method

Heat oil in a pan. Once hot add asafoetida, mustard seeds and cumin. After the mustard seeds crackle, add diced onions. Cook till the onions are light brown and translucent. Add diced green, pav-bhaji masala, garam masala, red chili powder, and turmeric. Fry the onions in the spices for a few minutes till it sends out a nice masala aroma. Add the diced potatoes, green peas and salt per taste. Cover the pan and let the potatoes cook till they are soft. After the potatoes are cooked, roughly mash the potato-peas mixture. Let the mixture cool down a bit. Now take two slices of bread. Butter one side of both the slices. Spoon the potato-peas mixture and spread evenly on buttered side of one slice. Place the other slice buttered down on the mixture. Butter both the slices of bread on outside and toast the sandwich in sandwich toaster or grill. I use George Foreman grill for our sandwiches. Once the bread browns on the outside, serve it hot with green coriander chutney and ketchup!

Leave a Reply

