Pav Bhaji

As a kid, this was my THE favorite dish. I could pretty much eat it every day and probably would have, if mom cooked it everyday…which she did not as she did not like us having too much of that “white bread”. Back then our school timing was 7:30 am to 1:30 pm. But sometimes we had an afternoon school for sports activities. On those days all the parents would send tiffin for their kids. Mom knew how tired I would be by 1:30 and that I still had to keep on going till 5:30 pm. So she would make my favorite dish “pav-bhaji” and have my dad deliver it (piping hot) to me at the school right in time for lunch. And as soon as I would open the tiffin, I would have this big smile on my face. All my friends sitting around me would be excited because they knew they would get a bite of it as well. Everyone loved my mom’s pav-bhaji. The tiffin consisted on pav-bhaji, masala chaas and papad..it was yummiest meal ever 🙂 ..I couldn’t thank her enough for all that she has and still is doing for us. Thanks Mom!!

I make this once in a while because all my friends love it. I made this tonight and even J loved it who is not a big vegetable fan! Though it does not taste the same as mom’s (I don’t know why) everyone loves it. Just like my mom I feel the same about “white bread”, so sometimes we have parathas with bhaji..no pav and it still tastes like heaven 🙂

Ta

Recipe
(Serves 4)

Ingredients

3 potatoes (approx. 1 lb)
1 eggplant (approx. 1 lb)
1 small cauliflower
1/2 cabbage
1 onion (finely diced)
3 tomatoes (boiled and pureed)
3 green chilies
small piece of ginger
3 cloves of garlic
2 tbsp of pav bhaji masala
1 tbsp of garam masala
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp red chili powder
1 tsp of turmeric
1 small stick of cinnamon
3 cloves
pinch of asafoetida
Oil for frying
salt per taste


Method

Boil potatoes, eggplant, caulifower and cabbage in a pressure cooker (or microwave). Grind the green chilies, garlic, ginger, cumin, cinammon stick and cloves. Heat the oil in a pot. Once hot add asafoetida and chili paste. Fry the paste till it gives aroma and browns a little bit (be careful to not burn it). Add onions and fry them till they are done. Add pureed tomatoes to the onions and all the dry spices other than salt. Cook the tomato paste till the oil separates. With a slotted spoon add the boiled vegetables to the tomato paste. Mash the vegetables in the pot. Add salt per yor taste and cover the pot (else it splash all over..i learned the hard way!) and let it cook for about 15-20 mins. Stir it frequently so that it does burn at the bottom of the pan. Serve hot with raw onions and coriander sprinkled on top and some pav (bread). Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

