Less is More: Simply “Delicious” Okra

The other day I went to Central Market (I LOVE this place) and was browsing around in the produce section when I saw her…there she was, lazing around in the corner.Β  Okra looked so dainty and tender (which is unusual as I have not come across fresh/tender okra very often) that I greedily stuffed my bag with some and continued on my stroll around the fruits and vegetables at CM.

Once home, I was not sure how to cook it. In the past, I have tried it stuffed, stir fried, with yogurt gravy, etc. But this time around I was looking for a quick and easy way to make it. While browsing around the other blogs, I found just the type of recipe I was looking for. Suganya of Tasty Palettes has an amazing, mouthwatering collection of recipes. The one that caught my eye for the moment was her Simply Okra dish. I followed the recipe to the T and result was tender, spicy (but not overly) and crispy okra. J, who hates okra, LOVED it!!! I had forced him to try just one tinny bit with the thought that he’ll try and would make his “don’t like this” face. But I couldn’t have been more wrong. After the first bite, he gave me this sly smile and said “I actually like this!”..and soon he had the bowl in his hands and was enjoying every bit of okra..I was so surprised that I literally stared at him open mouthed πŸ™‚

Because of this okra dish, I get to participate in one of the blog events, MBP, started by Coffee for the first time. For the month of July, Nupur of One Hot Stove is guest hosting MBP: Less is More and the okra dish would be just perfect! πŸ˜€

I served okra with mom’s recipe of Khatta mag (Green moong in spicy yogurt) and rice.

Ta


Recipe: Moong in Yogurt
(Serves 3)

Ingredients
1 cup cooked green moong (I boil it in pressure cooker with water)
1-1/2 cup of yogurt
1tbsp besan
1 tbsp lasan chutney (ground garlic, red chili powder and salt. You can also just add mashed garlic and red chili powder instead of lasan chutney)
2 green chilies
small piece of ginger
1 tsp mustard seeds
1 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp turmeric
2-3 curry leaves
pinch of asafoetida
1 tbsp of oil
salt per taste


Method
In a large bowl, mix yogurt, ginger, green chili, lasan chutney, besan, salt and little bit of water (you can use the water from boiled moong if any left over). Make sure to not thin the yogurt out a lot.
Heat oil in a pan. Once hot, add asafoetida, mustard and cumin and curry leaves. Add the yogurt mixture and cook for few minutes. Add boiled moong to the yogurt mixture and cook for another 5-10 mins. Serve hot with rice or roti.

5 Responses to Less is More: Simply “Delicious” Okra

  1. Suganya says:

    I totally love this recipe too. Glad it converted your husband to an okra lover. Thanks for trying out the recipe and blogging about it πŸ™‚

  2. Nupur says:

    Suganya’s okra dish was on my list of things to make for MBP, but chances are that I won’t get to it, so I am soooo thrilled that you made it πŸ™‚
    It looks delicious…indeed, the whole meal looks wonderful.

  3. Meera says:

    Suganya..Thanks for the recipe…I am so glad I tried it. πŸ™‚

    Thanks Nupur! I need to try more “Less is More” type recipes..they are so easy and they do bring out the main ingredient’s flavor.

  4. Ivonne says:

    You know I only recently tried okra for the first time and it was delicious. This looks fabulous!

  5. Meera says:

    Thanks Ivonne! Okra is one of my favorite vegetables and I am glad you liked it too πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

