Creme Brulee French Toast

I had seen recipe for Creme Brulee French Toast on Epicurious a long time ago, but had never tried it. When I saw that Sia of Monsoon Spice is guest hosting WBB-Weekend Breakfast with the theme being to cook a breakfast/brunch dish with summer vegetables or fruits, I was ecstatic. Now I had a reason to make this amazing dish.

Photobucket

Off I went to Central Market (I don’t have a farmers’s market closeby), where I saw different varieties of fresh berries and cherries. I realized how perfect using these summer fruits would be for Sia’s WBB-Weekend Breakfast blog event. Berries are very good for you as they are rich in antioxidants..You can find how good the berries are for you here. Making the french toast was super easy because I did the major work (which was hardly major!) the night before. The following morning all I had to do was mix all the berries and diced bananas in a bowl so that all the fruits marinate in their juices for a while and bake the french toast! I served it with the rasberries, strawberries, blackberries and bananas.

Photobucket

I did make a few changes in the recipe. I did not add the corn syrup (as the brown sugar was quite enough) and instead of grand marnier I used Triple Sec (that’s what I had). The result, was rich, creamy, french toast. J did not enjoy it as much as it was super rich and mushy. I liked it but would probably make it once a year ..may be Christmas morning!?! I would probably add some nuts to it and also would flip the french toast once it is cooked and cook it further in the oven for another 10 mins for crispy crust. Overall though, it was amazing! Now off it goes to WBB-Weekend Breakfast event 😀

Ta

Photobucket

One Response to Creme Brulee French Toast

  1. […] than what I had imagine it would be. I had some blackberries and raspberries left over from the Baked French Toast I had made for Sia’s WBB-Breakfast Blog Event. So I tried to bake some raspberry and […]

Leave a Reply

