Simple Meal – Thepla

Have you had one of those lazy days when you just want to sleep on the couch and do nothing? Well, that was today for me. Not that I could sleep on the couch..I had to go to work.  😦 But even at work I just didn’t have any energy. I so wanted the day to get over so I can go home, lie down on my comfortable couch, get my blanky and watch “So You Think You Can Dance” (OMG..I love that show!) 😀

IMG_0227

J and I coincidentally work in the same building (I know how lucky is that!) so I kept bugging him the entire day by calls and even met up with him twice to chit chat. Every time we talked we discussed what we would have for dinner. We tossed quite a few ideas, but seeing how really energetic I was (uh huh!) we decided to just do either pizza or Chinese delivery. And to tell you the truth, I couldn’t have been more excited! But once home, I felt guilty about eating unhealthy food once again (we had pizza hut pizza yesterday! 😕 ). So I rolled up my sleeves (metaphorically speaking..with sleeveless t-shirt it didn’t work 😉 ) and decided to have some thepla. My mom recently had sent some home made gujju pickles (murabo, chundo, godkeri, methi, etc.) all the way from India (Thank you thank you mom!!!). And what better to go with thepla…..chundo (sweet, tangy, spicy mango pickle) and MASALA TEA! Yes, tea..this is one of my comfort meals. I know tea probably sounds weird for dinner, but I love the whole combination. In fact, J who never had thepla before, loved them as well. He chowed them down with murabo (sweet, cardamom, saffron mango pickle) and tea. 🙂

Ta

IMG_0230

Recipe: Thepla
(Makes 12 medium sized)

Ingredients

1-1/2 cups atta (wheat flour) + some for rolling theplas
3 Tbsp oil + oil for cooking
1 tsp turmeric
1-1/2 tsp red chilli powder
1 tsp cumin
salt per taste
water for kneading dough


Method

Mix flour, oil, turmeric, chilli powder, cumin, and salt. Knead a little bit with the oil that was added to the flour so all the spices and salt gets mixed. Now add water and knead the dough. The dough should not be too tough or too soggy. It should have a medium consistency. Cover the dough and let it sit for 15 mins or so. (Time to get the tea ready 😉 ) Break the dough into 12 equal pieces. Roll each ball of dough into a thin disc (Not too thin as roti). I usually roll out each of the 12 dics and then start cooking them as I do not have speed nor can I multi task. Once you have rolled the theplas, heat a pan on medium-high heat (you don’t want to cook on too low heat, as it will result in rubbery thepla). Place one of the theplas on the pan. Cook on one side till you see bubbles forming on the underside. Turn the thepla over and smear the cooked side with oil. Turn it over again and smear the other side with oil. Cook both sides till they are done (brown spots start to appear). Continue till you have cooked all 12 theplas and enjoy with some masala tea!

2 Responses to Simple Meal – Thepla

  1. Rashmi says:

    same pinch..i love theplas with chai too, a regular meal for me, see:
    http://delhibelle.blogspot.com/2008/06/mooli-na-thepla-kacha-papaya-nu-shaak.html
    BTW, do try out Trupti’s dad’s chai linked there, it is superb!

  2. Meera says:

    Hi Rashmi, your muli theplas and papaya nu shaak looks wonderful. I need to give it a try along with Trupti’s dad’s chai 🙂

Leave a Reply

