Agave Walnut Bread

Yet another effort at baking bread. Barely a week had gone by since I last baked brioches and I was itching to bake some more. This is what baking addiction is like I guess ๐Ÿ™‚ But this time I think I went a tinsy bit overboard with the amount of bread I baked. Also, I couldn’t score the bread nicely. Instead of nice cuts, the cut I made on the dough ended up looking like an weird mark on the bread! I’ll have to practice more and read up on how to score a bread.

IMG_0259

I was browsing through various bread recipes and came across King Arthur’s Walnut Bread recipe. I had all the ingredients the recipe needed, so once back from work I started on getting my kitchen messy (everytime I bake, my kitchen couldn’t get any more messy!) In the recipe it says it makes 2 loaves. And I assumed (A wrong assumption!) it meant two medium sized loaves..but oh no..it made 4 medium loaves!!! I had to go knocking on my neighbour’s door at 9:20 pm to give them some bread…not that they complained ๐Ÿ™‚

I made some tweaks to the original recipe. The end result was warm, slightly sweet with a crunch (walnuts) bread. The next morning I toasted and buttered a slice and it was heavenly. I think next time I might add walnut oil to it instead of olive oil and see if it makes the bread even better.

Ta

IMG_0267

Recipe: Agave Walnut Bread
(Makes 4 medium sized loaves)

Ingredients
5-1/2 cups All purpose flour + extra to sprinkle on the loaves
1-1/2 cups warm water
1 Tbsp dry yeast (1 packet)
1/4 cup olive oil + extra to coat the dough
1/2 cup agave nectar
1-1/2 tsp salt
3/4 cup toasted chopped walnuts


Method

In a bowl dissolve yeast in water. Add 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour and let sit for 10 minutes. Add olive oil, agave nectar and salt to the flour-yeast mix. Add the remaining flour to the bowl and mix till you get a mass of dough. Take the dough out of the bowl and knead on a floured surface. Add more flour if needed to get smooth dough. Drizzle some oil onto the dough and knead till entire surface of the dough is coated with olive oil. Put the dough into a bowl, cover the bowl and let it sit in a warm place for 1-1/2 hours.

Punch (gently) the dough and knead inthe walnuts. Divide the dough in the sizes of loaves you want. Roll each piece of dough into a ball. Grease a cookie sheet and sprinkle it with semolina flour. Place two dough balls on the cookie sheet (the other 2 on another cookie sheet) and cover the cookie sheet with a towel. Let the dough sit for 30 mins. Preheat the oven to 350ยฐF. Sprinkle flour on top of the loaves and score the bread with a knife.

Bake the loaves for 35 mins. They should sound hollow when thumped on the bottom. Cool the loaves on a rack before cutting into them.

2 Responses to Agave Walnut Bread

  1. debschiff says:

    Wow! That bread looks incredible! Great job.

  2. Meera says:

    Thanks Deb ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

